A perfect day

I woke up when I wanted to

Stayed in bed until I was ready

Walked in the brisk air. It felt like winter.

Sipped fancy, creamy espresso and put some pieces together thanks to a friend who lent me his ear.

Lunch with family. They brought orange flowers for my living room.

Shrimp ginger dumplings, leftovers given to a homeless man.

Rest.

A fire in my backyard, sharing time with neighbors.

Sharks won. So did Stanford.

I smell like a campfire as I get on the bus to see an old friend. It’s her birthday.

Reunited, we hug deep, authentically.

Karaoke with wonderfully warm strangers.

I sing Xanadu and drink my first hot toddy of the season.

Back on the bus and home again. I see frost on car windshields during my short walk back.

Tomorrow will be amazing too.

20151121_171459_HDR

Leave a Reply

