Goals

I stretched my legs in a small coastal town on the west coast of the South Island, New Zealand.  A driftwood sculpture let me know I was in Hokitika on that cloudy day.

name in wood

Next to the beach was a series of blackboards that say “before I die I want to…” and people have filled in the blanks. I saw someone barely out of her teens write her contribution. I wonder what she wrote.  I wonder if I could have filled in the blank at such a young age. I don’t think I could have answered the question just a few months ago. I picked up a scrap of chalk and wrote “ride a motorcycle;” I was going to continue the sentiment and say “across a country with you,” but there wasn’t room among all the other dreams left there. I marvel at home many of them I have already done – most since I started traveling. I wrote my goal in the only space left, next to “meet Jesus” (and those that agreed with the statement). For some reason it bothered me to place my wish next to that one. I took a picture of it anyway.

BID mine far small

Before I die I want to…

my goal

…ride a motorcycle.

Leave a Reply

